What to ask for!

If a son asks for bread from any father among you, will he give him a stone?
Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent instead of a fish?
Or if he asks for an egg, will he offer him a scorpion? Luke 11:11-12

I remember my early teen years with divorced parents. Mom and I moved to some apartments in Baytown. We had moved out of the old neighborhood that was so familiar to me. It was sad.
My backyard was gone. The kids I played with were gone.
And my dad would come and pick me up every other weekend for a few hours.

Sometimes we would go and do things – maybe the beach or some shopping. A lot of times I could get some things out of dad like a model airplane or ship, or a telescope.

Now mom struggled to make ends meet. I remember she would often give up her coke money so I would have lunch every day. That may not sound like much to you but coke to my mom is like coffee to other people.

So we have my dad gave, who would buy me a model airplane to put together while my mom is struggling to make a go of it.
I know in her mind, what I really needed was not a model airplane but new shoes. He could have bought me several new pairs of pants or shirts.
The model was put together and sat on a shelf.
The clothing would have been worn daily/weekly and lasted a year or so.

You see, a stone, serpent, and scorpion are useful items – if you are a geologist, herpetologist, or entomologist.
I am none of those things.

It’s really all about given what is needed, which God can do!
A rock collector would be happy with a rock unless he’s hungry for bread.
And a herpetologist would be happy with a snake unless he’s hungry.

Father knows how to give what is needed to us. But do we know how to ask because the scripture starts off with that.

“So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened. If a son asks for bread from any father among you, will he give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent instead of a fish? Or if he asks for an egg, will he offer him a scorpion? If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him!” Luke 11:9-13

What would you ask for today? Financial help when you need healing? Would you ask for a new car when you need salvation?

God knows how to give – do you know how to ask?

2 thoughts on “What to ask for!

  1. so how do we figure out what we NEED? because I’ve been (and a couple dozen others) for my physical healing. so what am I doing wrong???

  2. I am not going to dismiss your feelings on this. Your pain and discomfort is probably greater than any that I have. Still the Bible talks about a man that was born blind for the glory of God.
    There is Paul, who also had some physical disability. And prayed for it to be removed, to which God’s response was “My grace is sufficient for you”
    Paul then said he was willing to glorify God in His infirmities.
    I know you have heard these things before. Perhaps your request should not be for healing (though I would love that for you) but for the grace to endure. As I said, I do not dismiss this. And it is easy to just quote scripture to someone when I don’t have the same ailments.
    Then again, you may be praying and asking for exactly what you need! I will continue to pray for you too!

Leave a Reply

