Blame and Redemption

I remember when I was young – younger than 12 years old because my parents were still married and we were living in our house on Greendale in Highlands.
My first cousin lived just two houses from me. We did just about everything together.

One day we were playing in the ditch at the end of the road when he found a “playboy” magazine. It was full of pictures that two eleven year old boys had never seen before. We needed a place to hide it so we could share it with the other boys in the neighborhood, so it ended up in my garage.

Word quickly spread and boys from everywhere would gather in my garage for a peak at the magazine.
One of those boys became a traitor and evidently told his mom what he had seen in Tim’s garage.
She confronted me.
I felt about two inches tall as she berated me over the vulgarity of the magazine.
I needed to get the attention off myself.
I needed a scapegoat!
“But [my cousin] found it,” I said.
It didn’t faze her or slow her down as she continued to stress to me the importance of morality.
My attempt to blame someone else did not work.

And if you call on the Father, who without partiality judges according to each one’s work, 1 Peter 1:17

The time is coming in which all will stand before Almighty God and will be judged for the things they’ve done.
They will look for a scapegoat; they will blame someone else for what they’ve done. I’m sure my name may come up. Someone may say, “Pastor Tim didn’t stress to me the importance of accepting Jesus as my Savior!”

But notice the verse says “according to each one’s work.”
When you stand before God it is not Pastor Tim that is on trial.
I was responsible for my own actions at eleven years old when I hid a magazine in my garage. I have been responsible for my own sins ever since.
So have you.

But I have some Good News for you.
The verse continues!

And if you call on the Father, who without partiality judges according to each one’s work, conduct yourselves throughout the time of your stay here in fear; knowing that you were not redeemed with corruptible things, like silver or gold, from your aimless conduct received by tradition from your fathers, but with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot. 1 Peter 1:17-19

There is no need in bringing up my name before God. I cannot redeem you nor can I send you to hell.
Today is your best opportunity to be redeemed by the blood of Christ!
Then when you stand before God you can call on Him!

Leave a Reply

