Daily Maintenance

Being a Christian is not easy.
It takes full time diligence to do what is right according to “thus saith the Lord”.
Scripture like Romans 3:10, 23 are proof that God has made it crystal clear that mankind’s basic make-up is sinful.

For there is not a just man on earth who does good and does not sin. Eccl 7:20

Man is flawed.

It’s almost like my truck!

Do you remember a few years ago when Toyota issued a recall and fix for vehicles whose accelerators would get stuck?
I never had a problem with my truck but I did get a notice in the mail to take it to a dealership and have the problem addressed.
I think they traded out some parts on the accelerator pedal.
Again I had experienced no problems.

Then sometime later I received another notice from Toyota to make an appointment and have another issue repaired for free.

I don’t think I ever took the truck back for that and it has been two or three years ago. Now if something ever happens in that area I’m going to wish I had taken it back.

Well God has issued a recall on the human race and ask that you bring yourself to the cross of Christ for repair.

Knowing this, that our old man was crucified with Him, that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves of sin. Rom 6:6

Like your vehicle some basic maintenance must be done – check the oil, check the air in the tires, check the coolant, change the oil, rotate the tires, get new brakes, and other things.

Your spiritual life also needs some basic maintenance.

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. Rom 12:1-2

It would seem this maybe a daily maintenance schedule.

If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow Me. Luke 9:23

I affirm, by the boasting in you which I have in Christ Jesus our Lord, I die daily. 1 Cor 15:31

Sin has ruined you. But God has the fix. Take yourself to Him and He will have you running like new in no time.

Leave a Reply

