When to shake the dust!

And whoever will not receive you nor hear your words, when you depart from that house or city, shake off the dust from your feet. Matt 10:14

What are the grounds for shaking the dust off your feet and moving on?
Jesus said it is when you preach the Gospel to a place and they don’t receive it but was actually done by anyone?

And the word of the Lord was being spread throughout all the region. But the Jews stirred up the devout and prominent women and the chief men of the city, raised up persecution against Paul and Barnabas, and expelled them from their region. But they shook off the dust from their feet against them, and came to Iconium. And the disciples were filled with joy and with the Holy Spirit. Acts 13:49-52

I guess I’ve done the same thing but in this day and age it’s a bit different. In fact, just this morning I “unfollowed” someone on Facebook. They remain my “friend” but I won’t see everything they write because of how vile and violently angry this person is. I don’t want to totally give up on them but I don’t want to see all that hate.

Now they may have done the same thing to me and neither of us can see what the other is doing. If that’s the case we may as well unfriend each other!

I know that Christianity today is not friendly in many cases. I know we are viewed as intolerant and hateful. Perhaps it’s our method of preaching Jesus or the message.
But preachers, like myself, cannot help but preach Jesus and Him crucified. Social issues will enter in when it is called sin.
I mean, what do preachers preach about?
Sin!
You cannot preach hearts and flowers, smile and be happy when those living in sin will die.

For the wages of sin is death, Rom 6:23

The soul who sins shall die. Ezek 18:4, 20

Christians are actually trying to save lives but to those so wrapped up in sin it seems we are attacking the way they live.

When I preach in my pulpit I try to keep politics out! No one will ever be saved by me saying who I would vote for!
The best message for any Christian to preach is Jesus – crucified, resurrected, and at the right hand of the Father offering forgiveness and a new life.

I, brethren, when I came to you, did not come with excellence of speech or of wisdom declaring to you the testimony of God. For I determined not to know anything among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified. 1 Cor 2:1-2

One thought on “When to shake the dust!

Leave a Reply

