In the Spirit

Sometimes I stop, take a step back, and look at what I do and what I believe.
I separate my faith from my thoughts.
What I see causes me to doubt. It becomes difficult to believe in God; it all seems so surreal.

I look at some of the topics that I have written about since October 2008 and sometimes I wonder what I was thinking and how those things can be. I have other Morning Thoughts not on the blog that date back to 2003. I read them and wonder the same thing.

I hear the logic of those that support things that I say God is against. Their reasoning can make sense. It causes me to doubt if I’m saying and doing the right things.

I read things about the shemittah, about the Hebrew Feasts, about the blood moons and I think these people must be nuts. It all seems far-fetched and impossible.

I go to a church service and I watch those around me. I watch them at the altar. I see them praise God, speak in tongues, and perhaps they are slain in the Spirit.
And I think to myself, “what am I doing here?”

I want to agree with what is written in Hos 9:7 –

The prophet is a fool, the spiritual man is insane.

To the natural mind I would think those things and feel that way!

But I am not just a natural mind and a physical body. I am a spiritual being made in the image of God – body, soul, and spirit.
My spirit understands the things of God. I see, I read, I experience, and I understand.
I know what the Apostle meant when he said,

These things we also speak, not in words which man’s wisdom teaches but which the Holy Spirit teaches, comparing spiritual things with spiritual. But the natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned. But he who is spiritual judges all things, yet he himself is rightly judged by no one. For “who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct Him?” But we have the mind of Christ. 1 Cor 2:13-16

If the God’s people are to get the message of the Gospel across to the world then we are going to need to stop living in the physical and start living in the Spiritual.
We are going to have to put and end to walking by what we see and walk by faith!
As Jesus spoke to Father, so must we. Prayer has to become our natural language.

It is a difficult move to make. My mind argues with my spirit and my spirit argues with my mind.

For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit. For to be carnally minded is death, but to be spiritually minded is life and peace. Because the carnal mind is enmity against God; Rom 8:5-7

This is why God tells us to renew our minds!

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. Rom 12:1-2

That renewal begins today and tomorrow and the day after that and the day after that!

One thought on “In the Spirit

  1. James 4:4 sums it up pretty well, “Ye adulterers and adulteresses, know ye not that the friendship of the world is enmity with God? whosoever therefore will be a friend of the world is the enemy of God.”

Leave a Reply

