Because I sin differently than you!

I saw something on Facebook that got me to thinking. Frankly it kind of rubbed me the wrong way.
It said, “Don’t judge me because I sin differently than you.”

I always like to go to the Bible to see what it has to say.
I found this;

Now when Peter had come to Antioch, I withstood him to his face, because he was to be blamed; for before certain men came from James, he would eat with the Gentiles; but when they came, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing those who were of the circumcision. And the rest of the Jews also played the hypocrite with him, so that even Barnabas was carried away with their hypocrisy. Gal 2:11-13

Paul told Peter that he was wrong. In essence, that he had sinned and was hypocritical.
Peter is the preacher of Pentecost. He is the one that proclaimed that Jesus Christ was the Son of the Living God. He is the one to whom Jesus said,

“And I also say to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build My church, and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it.” Matt 16:18

Paul was also an apostle but he said of himself,

“For I am the least of the apostles, who am not worthy to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God.” 1 Cor 15:9

He also referred to Peter and the other original as the “eminent” apostles. (c.f. 2 Cor 11:5, 12:11)

Yet it is Paul withstanding Peter to his face!

So do I think I can call out sin because I am greater than Paul or Peter?
Absolutely not! But the same Lord and Savior of Paul and Peter is my Lord and Savior.
And besides there is the instruction of Paul.

Imitate me, just as I also imitate Christ. 1 Cor 11:1

Sin is sin no matter how different it is. If I mention your sin it’s only because I care.
I care about your eternal soul. I care about your Christian life. I care about how your actions reflect upon the Savior.
I am here to encourage and be encouraged.
I am here to help and be helped.
I am here to teach and to learn.
If you mention my sin, I would also hope that it’s only because you also care about me.
As a Christian I am concerned about how my life reflects on my Lord and Savior but I can sometimes do something that isn’t Christ-like!
I would hope someone would care enough to help me out!

One thought on “Because I sin differently than you!

Leave a Reply

