Hold on and be blessed!

“I will not let You go unless You bless me!” Gen 32:26

I remember getting the Sears & Roebuck Christmas catalogue when I was very young. I would open it and sit for hours and hours staring at the mass of toys throughout its pages.

I would dog-ear multiple pages that had toys that I wanted for Christmas. Then I would conspicuously leave the catalogue somewhere so that mom and dad would find it. Of course, it was open to one of the pages.

I would later find it closed and lying around somewhere else. But I was relentless, so I would open it again and place it conspicuously somewhere else.

When Christmas arrived I would often find at least a few of the toys that I wanted under the tree.

How long do you pursue something you really want? It doesn’t matter if it’s a raise, a new job, or love.

What about a blessing from God? Do you pursue that?

Like Jacob in the book of Genesis, do you hold onto God with all your might and refuse to let go until you are blessed.

God wants to bless you! He wants to bless you first with forgiveness and salvation. This is free but you must come and ask Him for it.
He wants to bless your family with salvation.

He wants to bless you with love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. (Gal 5:22-23)
With these things you can face any obstacle in life.
Hate is defeated by love; health issues are defeated by peace.
Anxiety is overcome by longsuffering; and fear is extinguished by kindness.
You can have goodness to help on those angry days.
Lust and hypocrisy is run off by faithfulness.
Debating and fighting is done away with by gentleness.
And self-control is victorious over all those things that lead you away from Christ.

Now do you want to be blessed with these things?
Hold onto God!

Leave a Reply

