Get the real message out!

I remember reading the book of Jeremiah several years ago. The passion of the prophet is contagious. As I read the book I could feel his tears for his people and his nation.
Much of his prophecy could also apply to my people, my country, and the church of today.

Perhaps it is my own fault or lack of ability in what I am about to say. I don’t see many coming to know the Lord in repentance. Perhaps it’s just my church not experiencing it. I don’t get a lot of contact with other pastors.

Sure, every so often someone will admit their need for salvation and pray and ask Jesus into their life. But these times are getting more difficult. I see a glimpse of end time prophecy being fulfilled and I believe more should be turning to the Lord.

My church is not a large church in terms of people. A few Sunday’s ago it was a full house, perhaps less than 10 empty seats. There were plenty of empty seats yesterday.
I take comfort in something I saw on Facebook – pastor’s aren’t called to make big churches but called to make mature Christian’s.

As in Jeremiah’s day, there were a few that called for Godly repentance but it was a lost message in the midst of those that said everything was alright the way it was. People were okay just like they are! No need to worry and no need for repentance.

I listened and heard, but they do not speak aright. No man repented of his wickedness, Saying, ‘What have I done?’ Jer 8:6

There are large churches taking a message to thousands of people. Sometimes the message is mixed. It is compromised. It doesn’t cause people to repent of sin but to be accepting of it. They don’t change the way they live – they change the way they think.

Jeremiah continued.

Even the stork in the heavens knows her appointed times; and the turtledove, the swift, and the swallow observe the time of their coming. But My people do not know the judgment of the Lord. Jer 8:7

I look outside my house and the purple martin’s are gone; the summer tanager is gone as are the scissor-tails. They all know their time to arrive and leave. They came, nested, raised their young, and have migrated elsewhere having fulfilled their time here.
But the apple of God’s creation – men and women – given the ability to think and reason are blind to the coming apocalypse.

The message of the repentance in the Gospel is crowded out by the message of acceptance and the false gospel.

Even if you are not a pastor or teacher, please join me in getting out the real message of the Gospel.
Share Jesus with all you can.

Leave a Reply

