Don’t trade off your blessing!

I want to be blessed by the Lord Jesus! I want every possible glorious, joyous blessing He wants me to have but I don’t always get it.
That’s not His fault but mine.

I sometimes live in a way that brings a curse and not the blessing. It’s my own doing. Sin and blessing do not – cannot live in the same place.

I’m not the only one! You may be doing the same and not realize it.

In the Bible you will find many examples of others that have traded God’s blessings for other things.
Adam and Eve traded for a piece of fruit, David for a one-night stand and Judas traded for thirty pieces of silver.

There is also the story of two brothers. If there are two then one is a firstborn and has the right of being doubly blessed by his father.
That’s not how the story goes.

Now Jacob cooked a stew; and Esau came in from the field, and he was weary. 30 And Esau said to Jacob, “Please feed me with that same red stew, for I am weary.” Therefore his name was called Edom.
But Jacob said, “Sell me your birthright as of this day.”
And Esau said, “Look, I am about to die; so what is this birthright to me?”
Then Jacob said, “Swear to me as of this day.”
So he swore to him, and sold his birthright to Jacob. Gen 25:29-33

Esau traded away his blessing for a bowl of beans. Jacob is the one that would be renamed Israel and have twelve sons, who would become the twelve tribes of Israel. It would be through his fourth born son, Judah, that a king named David and a Messiah named Yeshua would be born.

Many people today trade away God’s blessing for lesser things – drugs, sex, money, employment, marriage, and even unbelief.

Salvation is the greatest blessing and birthright given to you. Do not pass it up for a bowl of beans or less.
Grab hold of it! Once you do, like me, you will want every blessing God desires for you to have.

If you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. 10 For with the heart one believes unto righteousness, and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. Rom 10:9-10

Leave a Reply

