Defending what you love!

“No servant can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or else he will be loyal to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon.”
Now the Pharisees, who were lovers of money, also heard all these things, and they derided Him. Luke 16:13-14

This is a truth. Those that love sin more than God will defend it – this includes Christians!

When you have nothing to gain or lose with sin, you will be against it.

Jesus next thought was this:

Whoever divorces his wife and marries another commits adultery; and whoever marries her who is divorced from her husband commits adultery. Luke 16:18

That’s a tough one for just about everyone to accept because divorce has touched just about every family. My parents divorced and my dad remarried once, while my mother remarried three times.
It’s hard to look at mom and dad and call them adulterers.
But what did Jesus say.

You see, I can choose to defend their actions because I love my mom and dad.
Had they stayed together, it would make it easier to call others adulterers after they divorce and remarry.

Now let me backup to something Jesus also said here.

You are those who justify yourselves before men, but God knows your hearts. For what is highly esteemed among men is an abomination in the sight of God. Luke 16:15

And there it is! We want to look better to each other and not run people off! A pastor may choose not to preach on this subject because he doesn’t want to offend those in his church.
Now let me say there are a lot of subjects to preach from in the Bible. I’m not sure I’m going to just choose this one this Sunday unless God leads me to!
But I am discussing it here.

Jesus continued by saying people hold sin close to their heart – sin that is an abomination to God.

We defend what we love!

I can defend my mom and dad and say, “Oh, well! They just didn’t see eye-to-eye anymore. And they ended up happier with other people.”

Knowing what I know now about what happened back then, I think both were not centered on each other but centered on self. And a marriage that is about the individual is not successful.
A marriage should be centered on Christ.
Then the marriage should be about each other.

And so should all things!

And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him. Col 3:17

Whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men Col 3:23

Leave a Reply

