I am a child!

Last week’s church camp was a great week. I was privileged to have Jared as the other represented church in my cabin with me. Jared is also my neighbor right across the road and this was his first time to ever go to church camp.

One night we’re all in the cabin getting ready for bed after a long, hot, tiring day. Jared looks at me and says he has some good news and a praise report.
Caleb, one of the boys he brought, was saved that night during their church devotion time.

Well it was cause for a celebration and all of us did! We congratulated Caleb, who was all smiles.

Now Caleb is a school friend with my grandson, Braeden, who was already in his top bunk over mine at the time.
It didn’t take long for Caleb to think about Braeden and the conversation went like this.

Caleb: “Braeden, are you saved?”
Braeden: “Yes! I’ve been saved for quite a while now!”
Caleb: “Well, you just don’t look happy!”
Braeden: “I’ll be happy if they’ll turn the lights out and let me go to sleep!”

I couldn’t help but laugh at the innocence of these two ten year olds.

Church camp is all about the kids, though it’s a family camp. In going through my pictures things are geared to keep the youth involved. The water games, the volleyball and basketball tournaments, the Ga-ga pit, and the other games are all designed for youth.

I’m sure I could have got involved and probably got hurt in the process. I did play some ping-pong one afternoon but that was about it.
I found myself wishing I was young enough to get into that Ga-ga ball pit and play with the youngsters.
Back in the day I wasn’t a bad volleyball player but age has taken a toll on my shoulders and knees, not to mention my acceleration is not very fast.

The one way any adult can be like a child is in a relationship with Jesus, who said,

“Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of God. Assuredly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it.” Luke 18:16-17

I may not become like a child and play the games at church camp but I become like a child every time I approach my Father.

I come for protection.
I come for comfort.
I come for the things I need.
I come asking permission.
I come thanking Him for His blessings.
I am a child in His presence!

One thought on “I am a child!

Leave a Reply

