A Do-Over!

On Wednesday I was walking four miles and getting my daily exercise, really pouring on some speed, when I over-flexed my left big toe.
It made it difficult to finish my walk.
When I got back to the office I took my shoes off and my toe began swelling up just a little bit. It was much better Thursday morning but I decided to forego the walking for that day and let that toe rest.

That may not seem like much to you but twenty-five years ago I did something to cause the pain I had on Wednesday. I was outside mowing and began getting rid of some small pine saplings. They weren’t very big and most of them I would just kick over with my foot.
I went to give this one sapling a good, stiff kick but did not realize there was a stump underneath all those needles.
I kicked it with full force.
It hurt.
I didn’t go to the doctor but I swear I must have broken or jammed my toe severely.
The knuckle on that toe is bigger than the other which indicates some kind of bone or calcium growth on it.
It doesn’t have the flexibility of the other big toe.

I’ve never kicked over any saplings again and I wish I could go back to that day and do it over.

Do you ever wish you could have a do-over – a second chance to do it different? A chance to not say something you’ve always regretted. A chance to not do something that has altered your life. A chance to keep your daughter from leaving the house for what was the last time. A chance to take that job you passed up. A chance to study harder and get that degree.

You were born, like everyone else, in sin. You didn’t plan it – it just happened. It’s a curse started from the transgression of Adam and Eve. (I wonder if they ever thought about a do-over)

Sin is passed down from parents to children in every generation. There is nothing you can do about it. Once you sin you are labeled with it for the rest of your life.

But God wants you to have a do-over!
He gives you a second chance to do it differently.
Jesus said,

“Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.” John 3:3

When you are born again God expects you to do things differently.
As a sinner you sinned and did it very well!
But when you are born again of the Spirit, then God expects you to walk in the Spirit. To not make the same mistakes and transgressions that you did before. It’s your second chance.

When you are born again, it is not by the power of your mom. It is through the power of Jesus Christ.

If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. 2 Cor 5:17

I know if I could go back and do things over in my life – I would not have played on that railroad car with my cousin. I fell and ended up with stitches in the top of my head. I was six years old.
I would not have run around the house, knowing my uncle was shooting his bow and arrow. I nearly lost my left eye and could have lost my life had I not turned my head.
I would not have broken my arm because I would not have climbed that tree.
I would not have broken my elbow because I would not have sat on the hood of that car as it sped off.
I would have worn more ear protection when shooting firearms and my ears would not ring all the time.

I would not have done any of the things that caused me pain.

When you are born again you will not do the things that cause you pain or causes God pain.
It’s your second chance to start over and avoid the bad relationship, the drugs, the lying, the deceit, the hate, the anger, and holding grudges.
It’s your opportunity to live better than you have ever lived.

Take God’s offer today – be born again!

Leave a Reply

