Do not bow – do not bend!

It didn’t take long. The ink is just barely dry on the majority decision when I saw this from a church just about 2 hours south of me. This appeared on my Facebook wall –

I got my first request to perform wedding for a gay couple this morning. I politely declined.
I was asked, “Can’t you look the other way for 20 minutes?”
No.
“Won’t the Lord forgive you?”
No need to be forgiven for a sin I won’t commit.
I explained that I love them because the Lord loves them but I will not marry them.
I believe the Bible teaches marriage to be for a man and a woman.
I am disappointed that Polk County is apparently issuing marriage licenses to same sex couples. I realize this post will be hated by some friends and relatives.
I more concerned with pleasing the Lord than man.

I am reminded about a decision that became law in a land many, many years ago.

Then a herald cried aloud: “To you it is commanded, O peoples, nations, and languages, that at the time you hear the sound of the horn, flute, harp, lyre, and psaltery, in symphony with all kinds of music, you shall fall down and worship the gold image that King Nebuchadnezzar has set up; Dan 3:4-5

You really didn’t have to worship the image. Worship comes from the heart and if you just bowed down you could have just prayed to God and not thought anything about the statue. No one would know. You would be obeying the law and avoiding the penalty for not bowing down – death!

But it’s not about looking the other way. It’s not about pretense. It’s not even about asking forgiveness later on.
It’s about pleasing God and standing up for His principles, statutes, and laws.

There are certain Jews whom you have set over the affairs of the province of Babylon: Shadrach, Meshach, and Abed-Nego; these men, O king, have not paid due regard to you. They do not serve your gods or worship the gold image which you have set up.” Dan 3:12

Three men refused to even pretend.

They were threatened with death and given a second chance to perform the act of worship.

Their words are the words that should be on the lips of every born-again, bought by the Blood of Christ individual.

We have no need to answer you in this matter. If that is the case, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace, and He will deliver us from your hand, O king. But if not, let it be known to you, O king, that we do not serve your gods, nor will we worship the gold image which you have set up. Dan 3:16-18

And God is able!

I know many will say this story has nothing to do with the present. But the principle is the same.
The pastor was asked to bow down to the “law of the land” that goes against the basic foundational principle of God’s word.
He took a stand.

One thought on “Do not bow – do not bend!

  1. yes and amen. it is a horrible thing that a Priest was spit upon because he is Catholic and therefore must be an opponent of gay marriage. Show how far our society has fallen. I believe our Lord has spoken about this as well, something about a great falling away, but where sin abounds, so grace abounds even more. Amen?

Leave a Reply

