Just being neighborly.

I’m starting with scripture this morning.

And behold, a certain lawyer stood up and tested Him, saying, “Teacher, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?”
He said to him, “What is written in the law? What is your reading of it?”
So he answered and said, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your strength, and with all your mind,’ and ‘your neighbor as yourself.'”
And He said to him, “You have answered rightly; do this and you will live.”
But he, wanting to justify himself, said to Jesus, “And who is my neighbor?” Luke 10:25-29

Jesus went on to tell him the story of the Good Samaritan. The story is given in a way that is very understandable – more so for those living in that time.

What if the story was modernized and a Klansman fell among the thieves and while lying on the side of the road dying, an African-American found him and helped him?
What if it was a gay man on the side of the road and a conservative, good ol’ boy redneck with a Confederate flag found and helped him?
What if it was a Jew on the side of the road and an ISIS member found him and took care of him.

That’s how the story went.

If I came upon a wreck and saw someone hurt I wouldn’t ask the wounded if they were heterosexual or homosexual. I wouldn’t ask them if they were Democrat or Republican. I wouldn’t ask if they were Baptist, Catholic, Muslim, Buddhist, or Atheist.
I would render aid regardless of anything else.
I would notice they bleed red like I do.
I would see someone’s son or daughter.
I may notice they could be a father or grandmother.
What I would see is someone who is in danger of losing their life.

And so this is why I preach the Gospel and share the Lord Jesus with others – I see you in danger of losing your life – permanently!

It is written,

the wages of sin is death. Rom 6:23

It doesn’t matter if you are white, black, homosexual, a son, a grandmother, or a good ol’ boy – you are a sinner!

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God Rom 3:23

I will tell you about the Lord Jesus because as a sinner you are a wreck! I am going to render aid.
If you want to reject my offer of Salvation through Jesus Christ, you have every right to say no. I did a few times to those that rendered aid to me. I rejected Jesus Christ.
But the time came when I could no longer say no.
I discovered that I was a sinner worthy of God’s punishment for me.
Then I realized,

the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. Rom 6:23

And I accepted the Lord Jesus and His forgiveness for my sin.

I am thankful for those neighbors that saw me on the side of the road and stopped to help me.
I just want to return the favor.

Leave a Reply

