REFOCUS on the Gospel

My eyes are ever toward the Lord, for He shall pluck my feet out of the net. Ps 25:15

Last week’s Supreme Court decision making same-sex marriage legal in all 50 states had a devastating effect in many of those states but more so on a personal level. I can only speak for myself so I’ll share from my heart how I felt.

I was honestly outraged! I feel like the very foundation of America is now undermined by five unelected court members. When I got home I started posting scripture that related to God’s disappointment and ultimate downfall of Israel.

Then there were all the rainbow profile pictures on Facebook. As someone said the profile picts on my page look like a battle between the Confederate flag and a box of Skittles.
I saw those that profess Christ as Savior changing to a rainbow and giving full approval of the SCOTUS decision.

Then the White House was lit up like a rainbow and the POTUS sings Amazing Grace.
I was livid.

Then someone responded to a post I made on Facebook. And it got me to thinking.

The problem with the United States is not the President or the Supreme Court.
The problem with the United States is not the Congress or the Senate. In fact the problem does not lie with the government at all. It doesn’t lie with the gay community that pushed for this decision.

The problem with the United States is the church!

Like me, the church has turned her attention away from her First Love. We, the church, have forgotten the message – the cross of Christ.
We have preached against specific sins, like homosexuality, and allowed other sin to exist in the church. Divorce and living together in fornication exists IN THE CHURCH and it is allowed.
We have made hypocrites of ourselves by our lifestyles, all because we have taken our eyes off the Goal and the Prize –

I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Phil 3:14

Like those two people so long ago, we have taken our eyes off the word of God and listened to the logic of the serpent.

The church has strayed from the message given to her – to preach the Gospel. Souls are not saved by debating sin. Salvation does not come by yelling, screaming, and giving a holy dissertation on the sins of the Supreme Court on Facebook.
Salvation is by the preaching of the Gospel, the Good News.

It is such an important message that it became the main focus of the Apostle Paul, who said,

Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel, not with wisdom of words, lest the cross of Christ should be made of no effect. 1 Cor 1:17

I cannot speak for you but when I speak of the present state of my country I have a condemning overtone when I see the sin that is protected by law.

I am reminded of the words of Jesus, who said,

For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved. He who believes in Him is not condemned; but he who does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God. John 3:17-19

I need to preach the Gospel of Christ and let the work of the cross do the work. It won’t have a positive effect on everyone.

And this is the condemnation, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. For everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. John 3:19-20

2 thoughts on “REFOCUS on the Gospel

  1. Keep our eyes upon Jesus, that author and perfecter of our faith, In John 12:32 he says, and I if I be lifted up, Will draw all men to me. That is my new and only interest for my life. I Will lift Him up for all to see.

Leave a Reply

