Nothing new – same conflict

I am up earlier than usual as I am not able to sleep. I checked out Facebook and came across links to articles relating to Bruce/Caitlyn Jenner.

Many of these articles are written by Christians; one who personally knows the Jenner/Kardashian’s as he was the worship/youth minister at the church they helped start. I found it surprising that the Kardashian’s helped fund a church.

The articles all stem from a very Christ-like perspective. I want my perspective to be Christ-like also.

What is happening to Jenner is nothing new. Throughout history there have been those with gender identification issues. Sin is so invasive into humanity that there is no part of any life, any thought, any words, or any actions that has not been affected by it.

In his great wisdom Solomon said,

That which has been is what will be, that which is done is what will be done, and there is nothing new under the sun. Is there anything of which it may be said, “See, this is new”? It has already been in ancient times before us. There is no remembrance of former things, nor will there be any remembrance of things that are to come by those who will come after. Eccl 1:9-11

This tells me that there have always been hypocrites and homosexuals. The self-righteous has been around as long as the drug addict or alcoholic. There have been those that have worshipped God, those that have worshipped gods, and those that worship nothing.

And none of it is new.

Sin has taken a toll on every person on this planet from the first man created millenniums ago to the new life born today.

God tells us,

just as through one man sin entered the world, and death through sin, and thus death spread to all men, because all sinned. Rom 5:12

This death is more than just a physical cessation of life – it is a complete warping and twisting of the life that God intended for each of us. Sin conflicts and confuses. It turns good intentions into selfishness. It changes love into self-righteousness. It beats and tears and stabs and wounds so deeply as to make a person feel utterly worthless.

We will do anything to feel worth and love. We will cut or drink to get it. We will brand, pierce, and tattoo to feel it. We will prostitute ourselves to get a glimpse of it. We will drug ourselves to forget the worthlessness. We will get married in an attempt to get fulfillment. We will even try religion – even church in an attempt to straighten out that which sin has warped.

You see, Jenner is no different than anyone else in the world from Adam to present.

In all our ways of trying to fix what is broken we have found failure. Thus death spread to all men.

God offers a gift – a fix!

But the free gift is not like the offense. For if by the one man’s offense many died, much more the grace of God and the gift by the grace of the one Man, Jesus Christ, abounded to many. And the gift is not like that which came through the one who sinned. For the judgment which came from one offense resulted in condemnation, but the free gift which came from many offenses resulted in justification. For if by the one man’s offense death reigned through the one, much more those who receive abundance of grace and of the gift of righteousness will reign in life through the One, Jesus Christ.) Rom 5:15-17

It would be easy to out-and-out condemn Jenner because sin in my flesh warps me into a self-righteous, better-than-you, and holier-than-thou person. But that is not Christ.

I feel the conflict and I know where there is conflict there is no peace. And if there is no peace then there is no Christ.

Who am I to condemn for it is written,

Therefore you are inexcusable, O man, whoever you are who judge, for in whatever you judge another you condemn yourself; for you who judge practice the same things. Rom 2:1

Practice the same things? I am not transgender! I am not an adulterer! I am not an alcoholic! I am not a murderer! No, but by God’s own word I am a sinner among all those things I have mentioned.

It is in Jesus Christ that I find peace. It is through Christ that I have love. It is within Christ that I give grace and mercy.

The moment my mind slips from Christ I struggle. And so it is with Jenner, the Kardashian’s, the Duggar’s, the Robertson’s, or anyone else. Even you.

Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.
Therefore put to death your members which are on the earth: fornication, uncleanness, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry. Because of these things the wrath of God is coming upon the sons of disobedience, in which you yourselves once walked when you lived in them.
But now you yourselves are to put off all these: anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy language out of your mouth. Do not lie to one another, since you have put off the old man with his deeds, and have put on the new man who is renewed in knowledge according to the image of Him who created him, where there is neither Greek nor Jew, circumcised nor uncircumcised, barbarian, Scythian, slave nor free, but Christ is all and in all. Col 3:2-11

One thought on “Nothing new – same conflict

  1. Reblogged this on A Lil' Bit of Sunshyne and commented:
    I’ll just be honest here…. I don’t know how to deal with the whole sin conflict thing. I’m not transgender, but I’ve got my demons just like everyone else. I just know how to hide mine. So yeah, I’m not much of a religious person. I try, but I suck at it, but I try. Some days. Maybe some people just aren’t meant to be Christians. I go to church every week and go through the motions just trying to figure it out because of my husband, and my promise to raise our kids in church. But I like the way this guy thinks. Maybe he’s onto something. So I’m re-posting it so I can look at it again, and so my friends (who many also aren’t sure about this whole religion thing) can read it again too.

Leave a Reply

