Protect your ears and eyes!

Far too often we allow ungodliness to enter through our ears. Then we turn around and read and let it enter our eyes.

Our spirit begins to corrupt because of impurities entering.

Soon our mouth and actions reflect that which has been allowed to enter the body.

We accept what we hear and read without ever confirming it with the source – God’s word.

God has said,

For I give you good doctrine: Do not forsake my law. Prov 4:2

But because of what a minister said or and author it is never compared to what God’s word says.

I try to be careful in my church. I am pastor. I am the overseer. I cannot afford to allow false doctrine to enter the ears of my church family. They are bombarded by radio, TV, print, social media, and the Internet already.
If I allow someone in my pulpit that doesn’t teach the pure word then it is as if I have given approval of them.

And there have been times that what was preached wasn’t as I have believed. Not to worry – they won’t be back and because of my insistence that everyone read the word, they had already recognized the false teaching.

Lord, give me discernment to recognize those that would deceive us.

Another scripture gives me strength and commands me to be cautious.

If anyone comes to you and does not bring this doctrine, do not receive him into your house nor greet him; for he who greets him shares in his evil deeds. 2 John 10-11

As for my church, I will not invite any visiting minister to stand and preach or teach until they have sat and listened first.

I had a man one time tell me, “God wants me to preach at your church this Sunday.”

The problem is that God had not told me and I was in the middle of a sermon series. So God wanted me to interrupt the preaching process?

I told the man that I was in a sermon series. I have never heard from him again. I know in his eyes I missed God. But I know in my heart I protected the sheep in my charge.

Leave a Reply

