Peace

I don’t like conflict. Indeed, the thought of it causes me to become physically ill. Or, more likely, the anxiety of it causes my illness. (Yes, be anxious for nothing… I know)

Like you I want peace in my life.

I don’t want to fuss with my children or grandchildren. I don’t want any conflict with my coworkers. I don’t want any kind of disturbance at church.
I want peace.

While reading my Bible this morning I come upon a story and a thought – peace is often obtained by removing one thing but it must be the right thing.

The story is about Jesus and his disciples in a boat when a storm brews up. The 12 men panic and rush to Jesus, who is a sleep.

Then He arose and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Peace, be still!” And the wind ceased and there was a great calm. Mark 4:39

What changed? The boat is still there; the men, the water, the sky, the fish in the water, the stars, moon, clouds – all still there.

These things were all present when the men panicked. The only thing gone, in this case, is the wind.

Remove one thing and they have peace.

It would not have done to remove the fish or the moon. Getting rid of the boat wouldn’t have given peace. In fact, it would have made things worse.

So to have peace in your life often takes the calming or removal of just one thing but it must be the right thing.

As the story continues the group land and meet a man demon possessed. He, too, ends up with peace but not by removing the wind. His peace was the removal of the demons.

For to be carnally minded is death, but to be spiritually minded is life and peace. Rom 8:6

Sin is not peaceful. It is the one thing that gives the most conflict. Get rid of sin and you will have more peace in your life. But how to do it?

Only Jesus can help, just as He did with the wind and the demons. Accept Him as your Savior and He will wash away your sin and give you peace.

Leave a Reply

