Son of Father

It’s a strange feeling to see someone that looks like you.

That happened one time, many years ago at Astorworld. (Yes, it was a long, long time ago)

While standing in line the girl I was with gasped! I asked what was wrong and she pointed to a guy ahead of us in the line and several rows over.
I thought I was looking in a mirror.

It was eerie.

I’ve also happened upon my name on a headstone. The birth date was wrong so I knew it wasn’t me!

One more for you – in the hours before Jesus was crucified, the Roman Governor sought to get Him released by a custom that took place every Passover.

“But you have a custom that I should release someone to you at the Passover. Do you therefore want me to release to you the King of the Jews?”
Then they all cried again, saying, “Not this Man, but Barabbas!” Now Barabbas was a robber. John 18:39-40

The man that should have died on the cross was a criminal called Barabbas.

Bar is the Hebrew word for “son of”, hence Simon BarJona is Simon son of Jona.
Abba is the Hebrew word for father. Therefore Barabbas is son of father.

Jesus would have affectionately called His heavenly Father Abba! (Mark 14:36)

So son-of-father (Barabbas) lived and “The Son of the Father” died in his place.
Jesus, who was God’s own Son (Son of Father) took the place of son-of-father.

Leave a Reply

