Prayer and Oil

My daughter has gotten my wife into essential oils. I’m hooked too.

Every night Linda has a diffuser going with a few drops of lavender,

thieves, lemon, peace & calm, or some other mixture.

When sickness makes it’s way into our family she is quick to rub various oils on our feet, back, chest, or neck.

I have felt the cleansing of the oils in my life since we began using them. I know with the diffuser going at bedtime I sleep more soundly and restful.

Oils have always been used for purposes of anointing and healing.

Jesus sent the twelve out two-by-two to carry on the work of the Father.

And they cast out many demons, and anointed with oil many who were sick, and healed them. Mark 6:13

James instructs the church on prayer and healing.

Is anyone among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. James 5:14

Oil was used when one was anointed into the service of the Lord.

It is like the precious oil upon the head, Running down on the beard, The beard of Aaron, Running down on the edge of his garments. Ps 133:2

Once I was asked to resign as pastor of a church because I was anointing with oil and praying over people.

I remember that night well. I was told by some in the church that they did not believe in anointing with oil. I asked what they did with James 5:14. The reply was, “well, we just don’t believe in it!”

That was 17 years ago and I am still anointing with oil and praying over others, though I am no longer at that church.

God has given natural remedies for your health. And I believe two of these are prayer and oil.

I have certainly benefited from both.

Leave a Reply

