Made by Man

I like to see where things are made!

It’s fascinating to stand in the clothing section of a store and look at the tags; at least it’s fascinating to me. China, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Costa Rica, Mexico, and India all pop up.

When I was a kid “Made in Hong Kong” and “Made in Japan” were probably the two most popular places to see on products. Those have been replaced by many other countries as industry has spread.

Now the deal is trying to find something Made I n America so you can keep the money here in the good ol’ US of A.
Besides, it’s been demonstrated that the other countries do things that are hazardous to your health, that of your family, and even your pets.

Everything has an origin and is made somewhere by someone!

I once preached a sermon on the man made things of heaven. There is just one – the nail prints in the hands of Jesus.

Someone took issue with me one time about whether or not those prints still exist or if they were healed.

After the resurrection Jesus appears to ten disciples. One is not present – Thomas! When the others tell him about seeing Jesus he is doubtful.

So he said to them, “Unless I see in His hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and put my hand into His side, I will not believe.”
And after eight days His disciples were again inside, and Thomas with them. Jesus came, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst, and said, “Peace to you!” Then He said to Thomas, “Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand here, and put it into My side. Do not be unbelieving, but believing.” John 20:25-27

Thomas wanted to see the print of the nails – the scars!
Jesus showed him the print of the nails – the scars!

But was there a change before Jesus ascended to Father?

It may be a bit of a stretch but I look to this verse.

“Men of Galilee, why do you stand gazing up into heaven? This same Jesus, who was taken up from you into heaven, will so come in like manner as you saw Him go into heaven.” Acts 1:11

“This same Jesus” is a key phrase. The same Jesus has nail prints in His hands – the only man made things in heaven.

Now you can agree or disagree – makes me no difference. This we agree on – HE IS COMING BACK!

Leave a Reply

