Excuse me – Part 4

Still another said, ‘I have married a wife, and therefore I cannot come.’ Luke 14:20

What a lame excuse this is. I always thought a spouse would be a good reason to go to church but I guess some could use love as an excuse.

The problem with love is that it doesn’t just involve another human being. I know it does in this parable but in reality people love different things.

People love other people. They love fishing and football. They love sitting around, reading the paper, and drinking coffee.

People love working hard and doing nothing. They love to travel and to stay home. They love geocaching, stamp collecting, and shopping at flea markets.

They love their pets and farm animals. They love gardening and Sunday drives.

Love can apply to anything and anything can come between you and God.

Jesus said,

“If anyone comes to Me and does not hate his father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters, yes, and his own life also, he cannot be My disciple. And whoever does not bear his cross and come after Me cannot be My disciple.” Luke 14:26-27

He doesn’t mean you must actually hate those relationships but that you must put God first above all else.

You want family. You’d like time for recreation; time for the lake or the beach, time for hobbies and hard work.
Then put God first.

Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Matt 6:33

The desire for what you really don’t need will be removed when God is first. What is left is that which enhances your relationship with Him. What is left is not a hindrance.

Abba, remove from my life that which keeps me from seeking Yours! In Jesus name, YES&AMEN

One thought on “Excuse me – Part 4

Leave a Reply

