Excuse me – part 1

Excuses are a part of everyday life. You may make one to someone else and they may make one to you.

Every teacher has heard excuses for why assignments were not done and homework not turned in. And just so you will know, the dog doesn’t really like to eat homework.

God hears excuses all the time as in the case of a parable that Jesus told.

It seems a man invited his friends to a great supper. He went to the time an expense to prepare and cook for them. It was probably a very impressive spread.

When everything was ready the man called his friends to come and eat. I don’t know about you but if someone invites me to supper – I’m there! But that’s not what happened in this story.

But they all with one accord began to make excuses. Luke 14:18

Though each man had his own excuse, they all made them together. I’m already suspicious about the truthfulness of each reason for not going to the supper. I have discovered that many excuses are just lies.

Don’t get me wrong. I know there can be legitimate excuses. I recently was asked to do a funeral but I turned it down.

It seems the daughter of the man that died thought we were really close friends. I explained I haven’t seen him in at least 40 years and that I didn’t remember him in high school at all. That most of my memories of him were from elementary school – around 50 years ago.
It was the truth and she understood.

But how can someone make an excuse to the Almighty?
Find out through the next series of Morning Thoughts.

Abba, I made many excuses to not be saved but I am glad I quit and accepted your gift of love, grace, and forgiveness. In Jesus name, YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

