Apologetics – Part 3

Christian apologetics did not come easy for Paul. After his salvation and conversion he was now going to need to build up what he previously had been tearing down.

You will have to do the same.

Sin is against God and after a lifetime of sinning in the flesh, you will need to begin building in the Spirit.

How did Paul accomplish this? Who helped him?

He wrote about his salvations saying,

the gospel which was preached by me is not according to man. For I neither received it from man, nor was I taught it, but it came through the revelation of Jesus Christ. Gal 1:11-12

That’s different from my salvation. Someone witnessed to me, gave me a track, and preached the Gospel to me.

Paul continues,

I did not immediately confer with flesh and blood, nor did I go up to Jerusalem to those who were apostles before me; but I went to Arabia, and returned again to Damascus.
Then after three years I went up to Jerusalem to see Peter, and remained with him fifteen days. But I saw none of the other apostles except James, the Lord’s brother.
Gal 1:16-19

While I was encouraged to become part of a Bible believing church, that wasn’t Paul’s first move.

He briefly preached that Jesus is the Son of God until threats were made on his life. He escaped the city and went to Arabia.

I believe he may have traveled to the place where the Law he defended so well was given – Mt Sinai.

It would have been a time of prayer, mediation, and study. He connected the dots, as it were, between the scripture of the Law and the Prophets to Jesus the Messiah.

Only then did he return back to Damascus, where he found himself in the fellowship of other believers.

Your own strengthening in Christian apologetics will come much the same way – prayer for understanding, meditation on the word of God, study of the Bible, and fellowship with other believers in church.

Abba, I desire more understanding of Your word that I may rightly divide the word of truth. In Jesus name, YES&AMEN

One thought on “Apologetics – Part 3

  1. I remember reading where we must have faith like a child. I did not understand, so God took me to school in the form of training. I became a child evangilest. The more I studied to teach the more I learned and the deeper my love grew for Jesus. I was indeed surrounded with other believers and little ones who wanted to know & believe. My fear of presenting the scriptures incorrectly drove me to a deeper study. I even learned from the little children. And I’n still learning. THANK YOU LORD

Leave a Reply

