Apologetics – Part 1

My church gathered to watch God’s Not Dead on New Year’s Eve. Many told me it was the best movie they have ever seen.

It is an excellent movie.

I think about how the student defended his Christian faith against the college professor. That’s called Christian apologetics. While I am a Christian and I will defend my faith, I’m not sure I would or could do it in the same method as the student in the movie.
He did a lot of reading to find out the belief of different philosophers and scientist in order to defend the faith.

I, on the other hand, prefer not to cloud my mind with antichrist thoughts and ideas. I prefer to read the truth that is God’s word.

I found in the Bible one of the first Christian’s to get into apologetics – Saul, who became the apostle Paul.

After his salvation, he turned his attention to preaching Jesus as the Son of God. How did he do this being such a new Christian and freshly converted from Judaism?

This verse gives the key.

But Saul increased all the more in strength, and confounded the Jews who dwelt in Damascus, proving that this Jesus is the Christ. Acts 9:22

He increased!
I believe that means in knowledge and strength of the Holy Spirit.

He confounded!
This increased knowledge of the scripture gave him the ability to confound the knowledge of others.

He proved!
By using the scripture he was able to show that Jesus is the fulfillment of God’s word.

This is Christian apologetics and it’s something you need to do also.

The church can no longer shrug when people question the faith or have questions about the Bible or doctrine. You must know what you believe and why you believe it.

Next time I will reveal through the scripture how Saul (Paul) was able to do this.

Abba, use me today to prove that Jesus is the Son of God and the only Way of salvation. YES&AMEN

One thought on “Apologetics – Part 1

  1. I love all aspects of God. He is gentle with us remembering our frailties. He has said He would not put more on us than we could bare. I have seen great rewards for obedience. If we’ll make an honest effort toward Him, study & pray, & trust. He takes huge steps toward us. He will use us without our knowing. Someone came to mind and I wrote to her of my blessings. Oh how I wanted her to be uplifted and mightily blessed. I didn’t know if what I talked to her about would do that. It turns out that I was under divine direction even my little blessings. She received more than I imagined.

Leave a Reply

