Happy New You!

Why January 1st? Why is that the beginning of the New Year? Who determined that?
There is no astronomical reason for it. The winter solstice is past and January 1st just hangs out in the middle of nowhere.

The Chinese New Year is not until February, the Jewish in September, the Islamic in October, the Thai’s in April, and the Ethiopian’s in September.

I also celebrate January 1st because it’s forced upon me by the world I live in.

But what does God say? Shouldn’t the Creator be the one to call the shot?

This month shall be your beginning of months; it shall be the first month of the year to you. Ex 12:2

It’s plain and clear.

The timing for this is the month of Passover and would fall around the spring of the year, typically March-April depending on the new moon and the ripening of the barley.

But even the Jewish calendar will have the New Year at the beginning of the seventh month (Tishrei).

I believe this is typical of a new beginning with God.

You are born on some particular day of the year – mine is May 7th. And so that day is always celebrated as a birthday.
But for those that accept Jesus as Savior there is another day – another new beginning – a day in which that person is born again. (c.f. John 3) I was born again on January 15th and yet it’s never celebrated by me or anyone else. January 15th slips by almost unnoticed and I get the cards, maybe a cake and some presents in May.

The Hebrew New Year may be celebrated in Sept-Oct but the new year of a “born again” nation under Moses was given in the spring.

You can celebrate all the New Year’s and birthday’s you want but until you have that day in which you are born-again, there really isn’t anything to celebrate.

Jesus answered and said to him, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.” John 3:3

Abba, I am thankful for that January 15th when I accepted the forgiveness and salvation offered to me. It was my new beginning and I pray for those that may be reading this today, that they can also celebrate the same. In Jesus name, YES&AMEN

One thought on “Happy New You!

  1. I never was big on holidays. However I do like new beginnings! On days like today may the shining of our Lord face be bright & warm with His love to all who will receive.

Leave a Reply

