A Lesson from the Christmas Story – No Room Here!

So it was, that while they were there, the days were completed for her to be delivered. And she brought forth her firstborn Son, and wrapped Him in swaddling cloths, and laid Him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn. Luke 2:6-7

Much is said about no room in the inn and I’ve heard much about it. Recently I read where it wasn’t an inn as we think of today but rather kin-folk.

This “Bible professor” says that Joseph had relatives in Bethlehem and would have stayed with some of them. That’s understandable.
Also that there was no room for them because other relatives had arrived first. He goes on to say that the animals would have been located next or on the bottom floor of the house – being a two or three story home, as was common.

I don’t know about all of that. I know what the Bible says and Jesus was laid in a manger – a feeding trough for domestic livestock.

I know this also – just because there was no room for Him there doesn’t mean there is no room for Him here!

My life is a reflection of that statement. I was raised in church and heard the Gospel message many, many times but ignored it. There was no room for Jesus in my life!

After an absence of a couple of years from church, I heard the Gospel again at seventeen and this time I was convicted by it. I then accepted the forgiveness and grace offered to me by my Lord and Savior. I found room for Him!

Perhaps the young couple did go from inn to inn with the same response of no vacancy! There was no room for them here!
And perhaps it was that the last place they checked also said there was no room for them here but there is room for them there!

I pray you find room for Jesus, not just at Christmas, but every day of your life!

Abba, I am grateful for the day Jesus found room in me! YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

