I broke the law!

I would not have known sin except through the law. Rom 7:7

I broke the law yesterday! A federal law!

It was unintentional but that would not matter.
It was something that just slipped my mind but that would not matter. No one was hurt, no damage was done, and nothing was disrupted.

As I was standing in line I looked to my left and there was a sign that reminded me that I was breaking the law. Not only that, it told me the penalty for what I was doing.

I finished with my business and left! No one knows what I did – but I do!
I got away with it.

Had there never been a law against what I was doing, then I would not have broken the law.
But there is a law!

Here’s the question – did I break the law?
Yes!

If a federal official came to me and asked me if I did this, what would my response be?
To say “yes” condemns me.
To say “no” makes me a liar and compounds my wrongdoing and makes it worse!
What if they had video and audio that revealed that I had broken the law – then I am caught in the crime and in the lie.
If I lie and say “no” and the subject is dropped, that still doesn’t change the fact that I did break the law.

All have broken God’s law. There is no covering it up or lying to prove otherwise.
You will give account of all you have done.
It is written that your very words will be used against you.

I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment. Matt 12:36

I know that I have broken God’s law. I admit my guilt. And He has forgiven me through Jesus Christ. His grace covers my sin.

His grace can cover you also, when you accept Jesus as your Savior.

Abba, I praise the grace that covers my sin through Jesus. YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

