Troubled at the saying

I study the Bible a lot – every day I have my nose in it. And I know there are times I can get teach and preach and get over the heads of those listening.

This is especially true of new things – things the listeners have not studied or heard before.

I try to explain everything but sometimes it just takes time to sink in.

The same thing happened to Mary.

And having come in, the angel said to her, “Rejoice, highly favored one, the Lord is with you; blessed are you among women!”
But when she saw him, she was troubled at his saying, and considered what manner of greeting this was. Then the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. Luke 1:28-30

Mary was troubled at his saying.
Why? Because it was new to her.

She lived in a society that followed the Law of Moses. It was a society where the religious leaders would emphasize that she wasn’t good enough and because her family wasn’t rich, they weren’t considered to be blessed.

Now an angel tells her she is highly favored and she has found favor with God.

The angel told her of grace, something she just didn’t understand. Grace and following the Law had little in common. Then again, they have everything in common. But there I go again – getting in deep.

Mary is not alone when it comes to not understanding grace. There are many people that don’t. I can’t swear that I fully comprehend it but I fully accept it.

I know I am saved by God’s grace.

There are many things in God’s word that are difficult to understand. Like grace, they need to be accepted and allowed to accomplish their purpose in you.

Abba, Your grace is more than sufficient for me. I love Your grace. Thank You for giving it to me through my Savior, Jesus. YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

