Singing Christmas

I love Christmas music, despite the fact that many times it doesn’t really deal with Christmas in my area of the country.

Still, I associate Christmas with sleigh bells, snow, chestnuts, and a red-nosed reindeer.

There are plenty of songs that deal with the true meaning of Christmas like the classics like Away in a Manger or Silent Night.

But being in Christian radio affords me the opportunity to hear what today’s artists are writing and singing. Many of those songs have also been rooted in me as a Christmas song.

Many Christmas songs seem to indicate the singing of the angels.
Angels we have heard on high, sweetly singing o’er the plain.
But you cannot find anything in the Bible that says that the angels sing. What you do have is from the birth of Christ,

And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God and saying: “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, goodwill toward men!” Luke 2:13-14

Here the angels said their praise to God.

I believe singing praise to God may be left up to you and me. And if that’s true, then sing!

Sing your praise to God! Praise Him in a way that no other creature in all creation can.

Sing!

Abba, I will sing my praise of You. I will praise the birth, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ. YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

