Chestnuts and sleigh bells?

Christmas songs are on the radio. We’re playing more and more on KSWP, where I work.

I call them Christmas songs but they have absolutely nothing to do with any Christmas that I have ever experienced.

The classic Nat King Cole song with chestnuts roasting on an open fire and folks dressed up like Eskimo’s.
Not in Texas!

The classic Bing Crosby song about a white Christmas where tree tops glisten and children listen to hear sleigh bells in the snow.
I did have snow earlier this year. In fact, there were three different snows all within two weeks of each other but none earlier than January 24th.
I don’t ever remember a white Christmas.
I’ve never heard sleigh bells. I’m not sure there’s a sleigh in the state of Texas.

Though songs like these are reminiscent of Christmas, I truly doubt they are appropriate for California or Florida either.

But there is one part of Christmas that is good no matter where you live.

She brought forth her firstborn Son, and wrapped Him in swaddling cloths, and laid Him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn. Luke 2:7

That’s Christmas!

Go ahead and sing Jingle Bells and Deck the Halls; sing about French hens and mom kissing Santa Claus – but Christ is what Christmas is all about.

Abba, I enjoy all the songs and decorations of Christmas. But I rejoice in the Christ of Christmas. In Jesus name, YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

