It’s Christmastime

With the end of Thanksgiving and November, we enter the season of Christmas. Lights start appearing in neighborhoods and trees will soon be shining in living rooms.

You will hear ringing bells as you walk into stores and cards will begin arriving in the mail. Santa shows up at the mall and kids by the dozen will stand in line for their turn to sit on his lap and tell what they want for Christmas.

Christmas music is heard more often on the radio and there’s the hustle and bustle of shopping for gifts.

All these things say Christmas to me.

I love the smell of green Christmas trees and cinnamon spice.

I realize that Christmas is about the birth of Christ and I am reminded of it in all I see, smell, and hear.

Let’s start with the lights.

And behold, an angel of the Lord stood before them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were greatly afraid. Luke 2:9

The lights are a reminder of the glory of the Lord shining around the shepherds as they hear the Good Tiding of great joy!

I look at my own Christmas tree and think of the stars in the heaven’s twinkling silently from light-years away and yet the Babe in the manger is the One that placed them there.

So don’t frown at the Christmas around you – embrace it and see Christ in all there is.

I’ll share some more thoughts about it next time.

Abba, I love Christmas and all that comes with it. I want to honor Jesus in all I do with Christmas, YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

