Seeing Clearly

Then He came to Bethsaida; and they brought a blind man to Him, and begged Him to touch him. So He took the blind man by the hand and led him out of the town. Mark 8:22-23

All of us know someone that needs healing. Despite some of my infirmities, there are others that need healing more than me. That’s not to say that I would turn down a healing.

But the healing of this blind man is a lesson for all to learn.

And when He had spit on his eyes and put His hands on him, He asked him if he saw anything. Mark 8:23

Don’t get caught up in the spit. I’ve read and heard a lot of things about this – things like spittle was considered medicinal or that it was used to moisten the eyelids, which may have been stuck together because of natural eye secretions that hardened over time.

To set your mind at ease, Jesus could have had the man use his own spit on his own eyes.

Nevertheless, he was asked what he saw.

And he looked up and said, “I see men like trees, walking.” Mark 8:24

It’s true the man was no longer blind!
Neither can he really see.

It’s a reality that exist today – people not blind but not clearly seeing.

Far too often Christian’s close their eyes to many things – the poor in need of food or shelter, the prostitute or addict in need of a loving friend, a child in need of authority, and even God!

God’s own people can have their eyes wide open and not see clearly the gifts of the Spirit, the miracles of God, or the outpouring of grace available to everyone.

Then He put His hands on his eyes again and made him look up. And he was restored and saw everyone clearly. Mark 8:25

Only a touch of Jesus can open your eyes and give you real sight.
Only a touch from Jesus can allow you to see what was always right in front of you.

I do not see all that is of God but I see more than I use to!

I can repeat the same words of the old hymn Amazing Grace, which reiterate the words of another blind man,

One thing I know: that though I was blind, now I see. John 9:25

Abba, open my eyes that I may see You more clearly in all things. In Jesus name, YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

