Reviling Accusations

During Sunday’s sermon I read a verse that has been with me since.

2 Peter 2:11 Whereas angels, who are greater in power and might, do not bring a reviling accusation against them before the Lord.

The term “reviling accusation” is what has stuck in my mind.

I have seen this elsewhere.

Jude 9 Yet Michael the archangel, in contending with the devil, when he disputed about the body of Moses, dared not bring against him a reviling accusation, but said, “The Lord rebuke you!”

I looked at the text in Greek and saw the meaning of the word – a blasphemous accusation.

How can one possibly commit blasphemy against Satan, fallen angels, the people of Noah’s time, and the wickedness of Sodom and Gomorrah?

Here’s how – by not speaking the truth about them.

For instance, what is the great sin of Sodom? If you answered homosexuality, then you’re not correct. Though that sin is present, the first sin of that city was pride. It’s followed by gluttony, laziness, and an non-caring attitude for others.

That’s hit’s closer to home, doesn’t it!

A “railing accusation” is to accuse others of things they did not do. I am guilty of such!
By not knowing all the facts, I have made blasphemous accusations before God about someone else. This is according to what His word says.

The Bible gives me two other verses that I need to heed before I make accusations.

1 Thess 5:17 pray without ceasing

James 1:19 let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath

YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

