Affirming Sin

A few days ago I watched a video debate called “Can you be Gay and Christian”.

The debate is between Dr. Michael Brown and Matthew Vines.

Mr. Vines is very intelligent in his pro-gay part of the debate. He does not deny the what the Bible says in Leviticus 19 and Romans 1. But his main debate is that today people are capable of a caring and loving gay relationship as Christians.

Something Dr. Brown said caused me to think about myself.

He quoted Matthew 16:24:

Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me.”

Dr. Brown says you must deny yourself – not affirm yourself.

Wow! I’ve never thought of it that way.

It makes the following verses take a whole new meaning.

Matt 16:25 For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it.

Anyone that affirms their sin is trying to save their own life – trying to make the sin of no affect. They will lose.

It is not by my standard or yours. It is by God’s and His word is the standard.

Abba, I am guilty of affirming myself. Forgive me for not denying myself and affirming no other but You. In Jesus name, YES&AMEN

One thought on “Affirming Sin

  1. Dr Brown is very thoughtful. I have been at a point in my life where I told myself, well, my sin isn’t really that bad. That was a lie straight from the pit of hell.

    All things bright and beautiful all creatures great and small all things wise and wonderful The Lord God made them all

Leave a Reply

