Depressed – Look Up!

The death of Robin Williams caught me by surprise. I found him a multi-talented comedian. He was lightning quick on delivery, while changing voices or subjects in a wink! Robin was made for improv!

Little did I know that such a talented man that could make so many others laugh had trouble laughing himself as he suffered with depression.

Prov 12:25 Anxiety in the heart of man causes depression,

One of my first thoughts upon hearing about his death was his soul – did he know Jesus as Savior. It’s a question I can judge but not one I can answer.

Last night one of the ladies at church told me that while he was receiving an award, he pointed up and thanked his Father!

My response was maybe he was thanking his dad.

Uncertainty about the future can cause anxiety; and anxiety can cause depression.

Prov 12:25 But a good word makes it[the heart] glad.

I am not uncertain about my future. I have a good word from God’s word and I have given my life to the Lord Jesus Christ.

Col 3:2 Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.

That’s not to say that a Christian cannot be depressed. When you take your eyes off of Him and begin looking at the world around you, it can happen.

Keep looking up to Christ!

Abba, I pray for those suffering from depression. Please help me recognize them and share with them the only real Hope – Jesus! YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

