Guard your heart and mind

I am the protector of my household. If a wild animal comes into our yard, I am the one that will protect my family, pets, and property.

The same goes for people. Given the nature of today’s society, I am suspicious of people I don’t know that drive up to my house.
Are they merely lost and want to know where someone lives?
Are they casing my home to see what cannot be seen from the road?

I believe in God. I believe in his protection over me.
But God has also given me some common sense and I cannot let my guard down!

God told Abram,

“Do not be afraid, Abram. I am your shield, your exceedingly great reward.” Gen 15:1

That’s some great assurance from God in that one sentence and the events that follow.

But Abram let’s his guard down some time after this declaration and fathered a child by a handmaid.

The Bible encourages you not to let your guard down.

1 Peter 5:8 Be sober, be vigilant;
1 Cor 16:13 Watch, stand fast in the faith
Mark 14:38 Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation.
1 Thess 5:6 let us watch and be sober.

Abba, I trust Your promises to me. I believe You. Help me to always keep a guard on my heart and mind. In Jesus name, YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

