The Order

Heb 5:10 called by God as High Priest “according to the order of Melchizedek,”

A TV commercial for jelly comes on and the announcer says that the recipe hasn’t changed since “mom” invented it in 1850. She set a standard of wholesome goodness and instilled the same ethics into her children to keep the ingredients and taste the same for generations to come.
The result is an old-fashion taste you can’t find in any other product.

There are many products and businesses that still continue on the principles in which they were founded decades or centuries ago.

Hebrews and the Psalms both declare that the priesthood of Jesus would be based on something founded millennia ago.

So what is the “order of Melchizedek”?

During the time of Moses the directive from God was for all priests to be of the lineage of Aaron, a Levite. This order was maintained through the years, with the exception of a few corrupt individuals who sought their own gain and not God’s will.

So the priestly lineage is through Aaron and the Levites. But Melchizedek is not a Levite. He couldn’t be. If he is Shem, he would have been the great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great grandfather of Levi. He lived and died before Levi was born, much less Aaron.

Jesus on the other hand was born thousands of years after Levi. But Jesus is the Lion of the tribe of Judah and not a Levite.

So, to me, the order of Melchizedek predates the order of Aaron. It is not a Levite priesthood that one is born into – but a calling of God to serve.

I have met many people that when asked why they are a Christian the answer is an order – “my parents were Christians” or “my family has always gone to this church. In fact, my great, great, great grandfather helped found this church!”

Though my parents and grandparents may have had an effect on my religious upbringing – I am a Christian because of a calling of God in my life. That call convicted me of sin and I prayed for His forgiveness for my life. My Christian life is a calling of God to serve!

Leave a Reply

