Popped

Prov 22:15 Foolishness is bound up in the heart of a child; The rod of correction will drive it far from him.

When I did something wrong/bad/foolish in school I was popped with a paddle. At the time it seemed to be three feet long and I swear it had spike nails in it.

Not only that, but my parents vowed if I got popped at school I would get them at home too.

For me it was a wonderful deterrent from misbehaving that is missing from today’s society.

Kids today have watched too many TV shows in which the adults are portrayed as stupid and the kids are smart and always have fun and solve their problems through a series of antics and comical mishaps.
Life is not like that!

But kids don’t know this so they back talk teachers and authority figures who have no recourse for discipline. Truly our society has embraced the old adage of spare the rod – spoil the child.

Paddlings didn’t kill me. It didn’t kill my classmates, some of which received multiple paddlings.

Personally, I think we need to take a step backward and return to discipline that carries weight, makes a difference, and instills fear into the heart of troublemakers.

Even our Heavenly Father believes in discipline for His children – As you endure this divine discipline, remember that God is treating you as his own children. Heb 12:7 NLT

Abba, Your word is true but we have strayed far from it. We are paying the price of ignoring Your word. I pray for repentance and a return to Your word. In Jesus’ name, YES&AMEN

2 thoughts on “Popped

  1. Yes, I was paddled at school. I was disrespectful. talkitive in class. And my mom did not know anything about sparring the rod, all five of us got it! Our granddaughters get it too. With a lot of follow up love.

  2. Proverbs 13:24 He who spares his rod hates his son, But he who loves him disciplines him promptly.

Leave a Reply

