Imitators

1 Cor 4:16 Therefore I urge you, imitate me.

Would you want someone to watch you and imitate you? Would you want someone to follow you wherever you go and do what you do?

There are those that do – children!

Children learn everything from parents, grandparents, teachers, and other children.


Children have never been very good at listening to their elders, but they have never failed to imitate them.


One of the main things they imitate is what they view on TV. Certainly many of the things they learn may be against what you would like to teach them.

It is said imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. But imitation is not always the right thing to do. Do you want your children to imitate a junkie or a murderer? Would you want them imitating filthy language or gestures?

The apostle talked about being imitating himself; Imitate me, just as I also imitate Christ. 1 Cor 11:1
But his source to watch and follow was Jesus!

The righteousness of Christ is not unlawful. Therefore be imitators of God as dear children. Eph 5:1

Abba, my life may begin with imitating You but I want it to end up as being a natural part of my character. Fill me even more with Your Holy Spirit and teach me Your ways! In Jesus’ name, YES&AMEN

One thought on “Imitators

  1. My baby granddaughter is “iron willed”. When she’s here I always have to ask Jesus to help me with her. One of the things He taught me to do is after scolding her pick her up and speak lovingly to her, & tell her how God Almighty took His sweet time putting her together. That she is a gift to me from God Himself. A few days ago she piled all her stuffed animals into Pa’s lap. She grabbed one & began scolding it. She then hugged it tight & began telling it how much she loves it and how special it is to her. now after I have to get onto her she’ll go away crying, but within minutes she’s back hugging me & telling me “I love you granny”.

Leave a Reply

