Social Media

John 8:2 – Early the next morning he was back again at the Temple. A crowd soon gathered, and he sat down and taught them.

It’s the original social media – talking face-to-face.

With the invention of the telegraph messages could be sent great distances but only by trained operators from a telegraph office. Answers were slow in returning.
Then the telephone made distant communication more personal by actually hearing someone’s voice.
The telegraph is gone. Phones have evolved. Texting and social media are the norm.

I have nothing against social media and have my own Facebook and Twitter. There’s also Shapchat, Instagram, Tumblr, Skype, and a few others that could be thrown into the mix.

Jesus didn’t have any of these. When He taught the people He didn’t make a status or tweet; He spoke to them!

Can you imagine tweeting the beatitudes?

Savior @JesusChrist
God blesses those who are humble, for they will inherit the whole earth
@fishermandude @drew @jamesZ @Zjohn @phil @bart @idoubtit @taxguy @alphaeusboy @thad @thezealot @niceguy_judas
#beatitude

It would have taken a while.

Social media is here to stay in one form or another. And I believe it should be used to reach the world for God and spread the Good News.
But there is nothing like one-on-one to share the Gospel. Looking into eyes that well up with tears or to holding the hand of someone while praying cannot be replaced with a #hashtag!

Abba Father, I will use social media to get this message out. I am thankful that it can be used for Your glory. I am looking forward to church tonight with some face-to-face singing and Bible study.
Let me honor You in person and on-line. With my face and with my text. With my status, my tweets, and my pics.
In Jesus’ name, YES&AMEN

2 thoughts on “Social Media

  1. As a child I watched the Jetsons. They had a phone with a camera…maybe 50 years ago. Men have walked on the moon. And we have a camera going all around the universe taking pictures. I believe all this advancement was given to us to honor God our Creator.

Leave a Reply

