Complete Forgiveness

complete forgivenessMatt 18:21-22 Then Peter came to him and asked, “Lord, how often should I forgive someone who sins against me? Seven times?”
“No, not seven times,” Jesus replied, “but seventy times seven!”

Seven is the number that indicates completion. Peter’s offer of forgiveness is more than generous. I understand that the rabbi’s taught that three times was sufficient.

Jesus mentioned seven times Himself in Luke 17:4.

But His answer of 7×70 (490) was astounding. Think of it. Could you keep up with the sins against you from every person you know?
You have to keep track of all of your family, your friends, your neighbors, your co-workers, your classmates, and on and on. You only have to keep tabs up to 490 for each person.

If you can do that, then what a ledger you must have.

Keeping up with the sins of others against you would consume your time. It’s difficult enough for you to watch your own behavior – much less that of everyone else.

How much easier it is to not keep up with the offenses at all… and just forgive!

Abba Father, as You forgive me, I desire to completely forgive others. It is difficult to carry the weight of unforgiveness. It is freeing to release others in forgiveness.
But I need Your divine guidance to do it completely and forget their sin against me as You do not remember my sin against You.
In Jesus’ name, YES&AMEN

4 thoughts on “Complete Forgiveness

  1. 7×70 times… I don’t have enough time for a ledger like that. I don’t even think if I did if it would accurate. I ask forgiveness from my God every day, numerous times a day even, I know that he has forgiven me far more than 490 times in my lifetime. Thank you Lord Jesus for saving a wretch like me and please help me to show the grace and love to others that you have shown to me…

  2. Pingback: I can never forgive you… | All Christians Should Die at Least Twice

Leave a Reply

