It’s New

happy new year 01I realize that the Bible says that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun (2 Cor 5:17) but sometimes it just doesn’t feel new.

There are old things – old feelings and emotions that rear up in this new life in Christ.
Anger, jealousy, vengeance, guilt, bad language, laziness, unloving, unfeeling, and ungodly attitudes seem to still reach up and grab you.

These things are what the Bible calls the works of the flesh or the desires of your sinful nature (Gal 5:19).
The sinful nature tries to resurrect itself in spite of Paul saying, “The old life is gone!”
But I will reiterate something else Paul said.
I want to do what is right, but I can’t. I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway. But if I do what I don’t want to do, I am not really the one doing wrong; it is sin living in me that does it. Rom 7:18-20
Paul struggled and even admitted that he was not perfect (Phil 3:12).
It’s the body and spirit struggle within each of us.

God is not through; it’s not finished. It is a work in progress.
What I believe the apostle said in 2 Corinthians is that you have the ability to kill the old life – to rid yourself of it. It takes constant vigilance against the craftiness of the adversary.

You are to keep watch, to stand firm, and keep your mind on things above.
When you keep that last one you will find the words of Jesus from Rev 21:5 – “Look, I am making everything new!”

More “new” is yet to come!
Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “It’s New

  1. I can not tell you how releaved I was to find Paul writting about what brought me some much self condemnation. It has been a great source of help in understanding myself & others. It’s a wonderful, refreshing tool of witness also.

  2. Romans 8:1 Now there is therefore, now no condemnation, for those who are in Christ Jesus” For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus, has set me free, from the law of sin and death”
    Best News of all. That passage from Romans 7 and 8 is my personal favorite.

Leave a Reply

