A Little Time Off

bonfireFor over a week I’ve been missing in action from doing a devo. I had two people ask about it. I told both I was on vacation – a time of rest and reflection.
I enjoyed Christmas with family, gatherings with friends, and the birthdays of grandchildren.

Someone made the statement that they’ve never heard of taking time off from God.
Me either.
God is always around and always active. There is no vacation from him.
But is there even a hint of taking time off in the Bible.

I found this: The apostles returned to Jesus from their ministry tour and told him all they had done and taught. Then Jesus said, “Let’s go off by ourselves to a quiet place and rest awhile.” He said this because there were so many people coming and going that Jesus and his apostles didn’t even have time to eat.
So they left by boat for a quiet place, where they could be alone. Mark 6:30-32

They looked for a quiet place – a place to be alone.
That sounds like some time off.

Some like to go fishing. Sitting on a bank or in a boat on the lake all day can be very tranquil and relaxing.
Perhaps reading a book on the beach or lying in a hammock with a glass of iced tea is your idea relaxation.
Linda and I can enjoy sitting on the front porch with a cup of coffee. Or roasting marshmallows over a bonfire, which we did quite often over the holidays.
And, of course, we enjoy going geocaching.
But relaxing, taking a vacation, or time off should always include being with someone you love.
This I have with my Savior, my wife, my family, and friends.

So I am back and ready to head into a new year with fresh insight and stamina.

2 thoughts on “A Little Time Off

Leave a Reply

