The Little Boy

0smallbearbirthday2013-6808All right then, the Lord himself will give you the sign. Look! The virgin will conceive a child! She will give birth to a son and will call him Immanuel (which means ‘God is with us’). Isa 7:14

Today is my grandson, Barrett’s, 2nd birthday.
He has advanced so much since the last time I saw him back in September. He’s talking more, though much of it is fluent gibberish; although I do understand when he says, “Gampy!”

He is bright and inquisitive and currently likes to play with a sword.
And last night he took a clear plastic bucket and put it over his head like a helmet.
He can feed himself for the most part and lets you know when he wants something to drink.

His energy seems to never stop until he just drops!

His world is his parents. They see to all of his needs of food, clothing, shelter, and protection.
I watch Jeff play with his son on the floor. Bear, as we call him, will ride on his back or chase him around the furniture.
If dad goes outside Bear wants to go too.
Dad provides entertainment and play while mom provides food and nurturing.

Lindsey encourages him every time he says or does something correctly with a “good job!”
She sits with him and reads or lets him explore children’s learning games on the iPad.
He wants her first thing in the morning and is clingy throughout the day.

I am reminded of raising my own two when I watch them.

I am also reminded that Jesus was once 2 years old.
Mary and Joseph would have done many of the same things with Him as Jeff and Lindz are with Bear – minus the iPad!

Jesus would have awakened with a wet “diaper” or let Mary know when He was hungry.
He would have chased Joseph around from room to room; perhaps rode on his back like a horse.
He would have spoke gibberish with a few words of understandable Hebrew mixed in.
Perhaps other family members would run into them on holy days and be amazed at how much little Jesus had grown over the past year.

Joseph and Mary faced the same things that all of us as parents face – watching the children grow up way too fast.
I look at my daughters, all grown up and wonder where the years went and where are my little girls!

For Mary, as she stood at the foot of the cross and gazed up at her Son, I’m sure she may have wondered the same thing – where did my little boy go!

I don’t know what Bear will grow up to be and what he will do.
As for Mary’s Son, He is a King, a Messiah, a Savior!

One thought on “The Little Boy

  1. From time to time Father God would remind me, “I got you through your childhood, I’ll get her through hers”. That was His word to me when I’d pray (with concern) for our first granddaughter, Kelsey. She is now a young teen who prefers the fast life. We do miss her (we’re to old, & slow…). But I am trusting my Lord. I know His word is solid, absolute. We are so blessed to be a part of Bobbles life sense she was born. “Kady” is her given name. Bobbles because her little head would bobble when we held her. She is two & a half now. She prays with us, sings her own made up songs, and love’s going to church with her older sisters. I know God has a plan for each one of my kids. And I fully trust they will come into it when the time is perfect. Watching them experience life isn’t easy on me. But their experiences will teach them better than I could tell them. They are Gods!!!

Leave a Reply

