Change what I don’t like!

foot in mouthTherefore, change your hearts and stop being stubborn. Deut 10:16

What is it you don’t like about yourself?

Many people diet and exercise because they don’t like the way they look.
Or they’ll have cosmetic surgery because there is something about themselves they don’t like and they want it changed.

It’s fairly easy to lose weight or have a nose job and change your appearance. It’s difficult to change your personality or habits.

For me, I don’t like my mouth and angry attitude.

My basic character is a talker and center of attention. Yes, I was the class clown and jokester.
I grew up fascinated by the quick wit of comedians like Groucho Marx, Don Rickles, Henny Youngman, Phylis Diller, and Buddy Hackett. I was amazed at the one-liners they could throw out seemingly on the spur of the moment.

I developed that ability. But with it comes a laugh usually at the expense of another person. Though I try really hard not to do that, I still try to be funny at awkward and inopportune times.

Solomon said there was a time and season for everything – A time to cry and a time to laugh. A time to grieve and a time to dance. Eccl 3:4

So what I really don’t like about myself is the inability to shut up or keep quiet!
Like my wife says, “Don’t laugh at him. He’ll just keep on going!”

It’s really a family trait. My great-grandfather was such a practical joker with a wonderful sense of humor. He was funny without trying. My grandmother could fascinate you with her funny stories too.
But couple that with someone that has an attitude and sharp tongue and you know have an explosive mixture of harsh humor, much like the previously mentioned comedians.

Now don’t get me wrong. There is a time to laugh but my nature wants to do it all the time. Sometimes I end up sticking my foot in my mouth. That’s really what I don’t like. At times I lack discretion.
There is no liposuction or body enhancement that can change that.
Only God can do it.
Lord, change what I don’t like!

One thought on “Change what I don’t like!

  1. I love to laugh. I don’t do well around those with a dry humor. Whats worse is when I try to be funny…I always hurt someone. I’m still learning to hold my lips together…just don’t try to be funny. But at times it will come naturally, and we all have a good laugh.

Leave a Reply

