Dance!

keep-calm-and-dance-before-the-lordAs the Ark of the Lord entered the City of David, Michal, the daughter of Saul, looked down from her window. When she saw King David leaping and dancing before the Lord, she was filled with contempt for him. 2 Sam 6:16

What a glorious time it was! The Ark of the Covenant returned to Jerusalem.
David’s wife, Michal, didn’t view it as a great day but as a time to offer contempt to her husband.

It’s sad that attitudes like this really exist.

I’m not a dancer – I certainly won’t be on Dancing with the Stars anytime soon, but I danced at a party last Saturday night. I danced with my granddaughter. I danced with the birthday girl. I danced with her sister. And I dance with a little girl that was small enough for me to pick up and twirl her around as I glided across the floor.

I’m sure there are some that would have a problem with it. There are always those that you cannot please no matter what.

I remember pastoring another church and I was talking about church growth. One lady said, “We don’t want to grow! We’re happy with the size we are!”
And so we didn’t grow.

We should be happy about any move of God or of His people. And it shouldn’t matter if it’s in another church.

If the church down the road is having revival – I shout hallelujah.
If the church in town baptizes five more – I praise the Lord.
When the church down the country lane has VBS and three children get saved – I give God the glory.

I shouldn’t matter when you do it to the Lord.

Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him. Col 3:17

One thought on “Dance!

  1. I am not a dancer either. BUT, I learned to be. As I was worshiping the Lord (with two dear friends) I began moving with joy. As I danced I became aware of the presence of the Lord. He was matching my moves…My Savior was dancing with me! If we worship Him with our hearts it does not matter where we are or how we’re doing it. My Lord has visited with me while setting on the back porch with a bag of trash at my feet…while driving the car on the high way…while in the shower, and lying in a hospital bed. He is ever presence, and all knowing. I am not ashamed of the Son of God, my friend!

Leave a Reply

