Chained to Christ

chain2Philem 13 – I am in these chains for preaching the Good News
Eph 6:20 – I am in chains now, still preaching this message as God’s ambassador.
2 Tim 2:9 – because I preach this Good News, I am suffering and have been chained like a criminal. But the word of God cannot be chained.

His only crime against humanity was the only hope for humanity – preaching the Gospel of Christ.
He gave his life for this one cause. He thought of nothing else. Every waking moment was spent on sharing the Good News with another person.

And for his efforts he was chained like a common criminal.

Paul’s chains went much further than the iron links that held him. His chain was a spiritual one that he had made himself.

Col 4:3 – That is why I am here in chains.

Before his salvation, he was bound for greatness as a Jew of the Jews. He was a Pharisee that learned Torah under one of the most notable teachers of his time.
He upheld the Law to its fullest extent.
When Christianity popped on the scene he saw it as a threat and took action to eliminate it. And he was doing a very good job until he was knocked to his knees on a road into Damascus.
He could not deny that Someone more powerful than himself was in control.

“Lord, what do You want me to do?” he asked. Acts 9:6
And with that one statement he had chained himself forever to Christ.

Phil 1:13 – everyone here, including the whole palace guard, knows that I am in chains because of Christ.

Paul had bound himself to serve Christ – no matter the cost. His mission was to undo as a Christian all that he had been doing as a Jew.
He would now build up what he once tore down.

2 Tim 1:16 – He was never ashamed of me because I was in chains.

Though I consider myself bound to Christ, I do not consider myself chained to him – not like Paul. His example for us is alive in some of today’s individuals that are willing to be a prisoner or die for Christ. I want to think I would be but the proof is in the action of that when the time comes.

Today’s church needs to return to the First Love and rekindle that great desire to serve our Lord with all our heart, mind, soul, and strength.
We, too, should be willing to be bound to Christ with such and unbreakable chain of faith that we no longer live or think of ourselves.

Paul encourages us with this kind of Christian living when he says, “Remember my chains.” Col 4:18

One thought on “Chained to Christ

Leave a Reply

