Time Changes Things

alarm_clock2Over the weekend Daylight Savings Time ended and you had to set the clocks back 1-hour.
There is a Bible story about a clock being set back.

It seems the king became deathly sick. It wasn’t long before the prophet of the Lord came to pay a visit with grim news – the king would not recover.
This was it. He was told to get his affairs in order.
The prophet left as quickly as he came and the king rolled over in his bed and began to cry and pray.

Meanwhile, the prophet never made it out the front gate before the Lord spoke to him and said to go back to the king and tell him he would live 15 more years.
The king needed a sign that it would be true.
Isaiah replied, “This is the sign from the Lord to prove that he will do as he promised. Would you like the shadow on the sundial to go forward ten steps or backward ten steps?”
“The shadow always moves forward,” Hezekiah replied, “so that would be easy. Make it go ten steps backward instead.” So Isaiah the prophet asked the Lord to do this, and he caused the shadow to move ten steps backward on the sundial of Ahaz! 2 Kings 20:9-11

There are times I wish I could set the clock back far enough to undo some things. Sometimes I wish I could go back to a high school day. Other times I’d like to set the clock back to when my children were little.
Then there are times I just need to go back a week or two and see where I went wrong.

But I can’t and neither can you. Neither of us can undo the past. All we are allowed to do is change this moment – right now – and affect the future.

Most of the things I would change in the past are things I said and things I did.

I can still change the things I say and do today!

The biggest effect this will have is I will have no regrets in the future over what I did today.

Change today and have no regrets tomorrow!

“At just the right time, I heard you. On the day of salvation, I helped you.” Indeed, the “right time” is now. Today is the day of salvation. 2 Cor 6:2
YES&AMEN

Leave a Reply

