What do you want from Abba?

man praying in churchAnd now, O Lord, hear their threats, and give us, your servants, great boldness in preaching your word. Stretch out your hand with healing power; may miraculous signs and wonders be done through the name of your holy servant Jesus.”
After this prayer, the meeting place shook, and they were all filled with the Holy Spirit. Then they preached the word of God with boldness. Acts 4:29-31

Everyone wants to be filled with the Holy Spirit. I know I really enjoy it.
But what is the reason that you want to be filled with God’s Spirit?
Many just enjoy how it makes them feel. I know I really enjoy it!

But the early church did not ask to be filled with the Holy Spirit. They asked for boldness in preaching the word!
They also asked for healing power and miracles.
Still, it all started with asking for boldness to speak God’s word.

God responded with the filling of the Holy Spirit.

It reminds me of King Solomon.
That night the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream, and God said, “What do you want? Ask, and I will give it to you!” 1 Kings 3:5
Solomon could have asked for anything!
His response – Give me an understanding heart so that I can govern your people well and know the difference between right and wrong. 1 Kings 3:9

It pleased God so much that He gave Solomon wisdom. He also gave him great fame and wealth.

There are a few things you must remember.

First, seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. Matt 6:33
And humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up in honor. James 4:10

I am praying for brokenness and humility before God. I just want to serve Him. I want to be able to preach and teach God’s word with simplicity for everyone to understand. I want to lead more to Christ. It’s not about me. It’s about Christ.
As John the baptizer said, “He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.” John 3:30

Leave a Reply

